AMLE Distinguished Service Award

This award recognizes outstanding service by an organization or an individual who makes a significant contribution to advancing the work of the Association for Middle Level Education in reaching middle grades educators, schools, and young adolescents.

2023 Recipient: Charlene Pike

Throughout her career, and even into retirement, Charlene Pike has been a passionate advocate for middle level education. She spent 30 years as an 8th grade social studies teacher at L’Anse Creuse Middle School South in Harrison Township, MI where she impacted the lives of thousands of students and educators. As just one example of her contributions, she developed a nationally recognized model for co-teaching between regular and special education teachers. Char has also dedicated the past 50 years to advancing middle grades initiatives through her involvement in AMLE and the Michigan Association of Middle School Educators (MAMSE). She has served in a myriad of leadership roles, including AMLE Trustee from 1985 – 1995, member of the Program Committee from 1993 – 2000, and a member of the AMLE Foundation Fund Committee from 1997 to present. She was elected to serve as president of the Association in 1994.

Past Recipients:

2022 – Gail Heinemeyer

2021 – Linda Hopping

2016 – Pat George

2014 – Norma Bailey

2011 – Ann Eichel

2006 – Imogene & Henry Forte

2006 – Bruce Bailey

2005 – Katie Sullivan

2000 – U.S. Secretary of Education Richard Riley

1998 – Court TV

1986 – John Swaim