AMLE Standards

The 2012 Association for Middle Level Education Middle Level Teacher Preparation Standards have been approved by the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP). Middle level teacher preparation programs may now use the new 2012 Standards. However, AMLE and CAEP are providing a transition period for changing to the new standards when submitting middle level teacher preparation programs for national review through the CAEP accreditation process. Programs can use either the 2001 or the 2012 standards through Fall 2014. Beginning in Spring 2015, programs submitting reports must use the 2012 standards.

2012 Middle Level Teacher Preparation Standards

2012 Approved Standards

Frequently Asked Questions

Tips for Preparing SPA Reports

If you have questions or need additional information, please contact Lienne Medford at